What I wish to accomplish in Galveston

2013

Dear Galveston,

I came here with a purpose. Hell, I came here with a husband, a great job I loved, a husband who had a passion for what he did as well as a great talent, a plan for family and children and inner city self sustaining and restoring a beautiful old building and living less and less dependant upon the government. I came here years younger and long hair full of dreadlocks and three big huge dogs.

I don’t have a single one of those things now. My husband lost his passion and I lost my husband and with it the entire vision of family, children and even our inner city self sustaining plan. I lost my amazing job and I lost two of my three dogs and eventually even my full head of dreadlocks as well as I have lost some years.

A few years have gone by since I landed on this island to plant my roots and in the time instead of planting and growing I have remained a seed and tumbled in the wind so it seems.

I’ll admit I have gained a lot of knowledge. Much of it what I can survive. Much of it an experience of new people I have met, new friends I have made and new experiences in different places and kinds of living which has been pretty fun. I have taken jobs I never thought I would have….I am glad for the experience. I can now make a frickin amazing latte and learned the art and the poetry of coffee. I have learned a different type of hard work that I can do anywhere. I have overcome fears.  I have gotten back into the business end of things .  I have also lost much of myself…and in some ways I have gained myself.

I hit thirty head on with no husband, no children and not even a home that wasn’t more than a twelve month lease . Rambling in odd pay the bill jobs and losing the time to do anything I really wanted. Staying up mostly nights to write and write and…somehow hang on to just a tiny thread . I did grow, I have aged and I have become much less a girl and much more a woman.

I have done many fun things but realize that I don’t take full advantage of my island…that if I left today there would be regret’s…many “ I wish I had…” and there has been much I’ve done and…am bored of. This island is small. There is a lot to do but there is only so much. However, I haven’t accomplished what I came here to do and I am not ready to leave without regret’s.

So, I have made some lists…as I do…lists for my lists for my lists. But they keep me in perspective of life and so…

Galveston.

I have a long list on gray paper written in black marker on my wall now from floor to ceiling of what I wish to accomplish in 2013.  But…not all of that list necessarily has to do with you. In fact nearly none of it…however there is, My Mini Manhattan Island. The Blog and in writing this I will experience much of Galveston Island.

I wish to build my foundation as a writer on this island.

I wish to complete and publish my first novel on this island.

I wish to work on small Footsteps and get the foundation for that laid as well in the next twelve months, eventually basing it on this island. This is big…this is time consuming and must be well thought and laid out…a plan complete before even diving into such a challenge.

I wish to build my furniture business based on this island.

I wish to bike ride from one end to another. I wish to bike ride to surfside and back.

I wish to bike ride the national park trails I have yet to do.

I wish to get a camera and take many fun beautiful and amazing photos of this life.

I wish to swim the waters  daily March through October and surf as well.

I wish to get back in shape biking , swimming and running on the beach…remembering each and everyday that I live on an island.

I wish to watch many sun’s rise and many sun’s set on this island…most of which while I float in the waters.

I wish to complete the Ally Loft , photograph it and use it as a part of blogs and resumes.

I wish to begin doing more with buying and selling furniture.

I wish to help in and be a part of the art world here. I am in parts of paintings and am the painting. I have modeled photo shoots and wish to design shoots in these alleys and on these rooftops.

I wish to write and couple my writing with paintings in a series for a show.

I wish to get on top of my finances and ahead of it all. I wish to fully write about car-free island living to it’s fullest.

I wish to take many trips in this time to Houston for Art and food and writing of it all…as well as Austin and maybe some other places as well as some bike rides along the way.

I wish to learn the guitar to help me in writing my own songs.

I wish to slowly build my book and reading collections from this island. Soak up knowledge of literature from those here sitting at the coffeeshop.

I wish to learn to fully eat and live local. And of course write abut it all.

I wish to get back in shape and get back to caring about my health .

I wish to visit sugar land and my family more and teach and learn from those around me. I wish to build a Japanese style garden out of my courtyard. Herb growth and all for food to make my own pesto’s and learn to cook more new things. I wish to learn and try different cleaning tourniquets.

I wish to ride my bike and visit the sailboats more…and begin sailing more again as well as learning to sail better, lessons? And learn more about boats themselves , setting the foundation for my own future with a sailboat.  I wish to take the opportunity to build my bike collection…at least my yellow Columbia and a good English roadster  cargo bike…something with baskets would be fantastic.

I wish to see and discover more of the architecture of Galveston , inside more houses and buildings. See behind all of these closed doors.

For the next ten months,

I’m your’s Galveston

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What I wish to accomplish in Galveston

Leave a Reply

