What it is for this year.

In the new year of 2013 it’s a year of Health. Mind, Body and Soul
Hell, I even throw in finances.
With 2013 comes Elimination , such as:
Coffee ( which for me comes with a truck load of cream and sugar ) My milk consumption alone ( though it was milk and creamer) brought to approximately 116480 grams of calories a year, 6,656 in fats and that’s not to say I will completely not drink milk though I am moving toward a lesser dairy products lifestyle…but in all of that and in one elimination of life I’ll add…for my health less of but when I do it will be Organic milk, grass fed and once years ago I did un-pasteurized which was great actually. Also I will use more ( organic) goats milk and less cow’s milk…and when I can I will sub Almond and rice milk and coconut milk.
Sugars had me at literally around 50 pounds of sugar…pure sugar in my coffee only! A year! With diabetes in my family need I say more? And talk about between the caffeine, cream and sugar where the weight right in my middle is coming from. As an elimination this is also adding to my 2013 in dollar amounts of savings. Somewhere at $130 bucks at least. I think I will put that amount in a jar each week and buy myself towards a massage or something amazing instead.
In my thoughts of over indulgences I realized my butter ( blame it on the French in me and my love of Julia Childs) . I use over three times the amount that is suggested…and as everyone knows knows a manufacturers suggested price is typically three times more than one needs…..wow! I felt my organs tighten just punching the numbers into a calculator. I’ve started using the suggested serving amount ( baby steps) and realize I seriously don’t need the extra extra extra. This here saves me ( and my heart , again heart disease in my family as well and my now over thirty year old doesn’t stay flat as it once did belly) 29,952 a year in fats ( well about two quarters of that at least but I will also dive into alternatives to butter…such as my favorite egg is soft boiled…eliminating the butter for a fried or scrambled egg) . 166,400 in calories ! And the pluses? Well there is the money of course…yes, this…is motivation always…I am one of those two birds with one stone type of people. But on top of that is my health, my weight ( does this mean I can exercise more?) and even my skin is showing a difference…for the good that is. I am also going to have fun this year playing with many oils and expanding my pallet and cooking knowledge.
In other eliminations I am doing for 2013 are some I have attempted, and failed forgotten about and simply given up on is Plastic bag use. I do pretty well typically but noticed that recently it’s been a build up back to it somehow. So…I figure most of my shopping trips ring me around 40 plastic bags a month meaning 480 plastic bags I will eliminate from my year of 2013 and if I keep it up then 9,600 in 20 years.
On I have done better on but not altogether has been straw use. I mean…with juices at home I can do pretty well and it’s habit with a juice at a public place and smoothies I have purchased a plastic cup with a plastic reusable straw . For me this has been in my past about 1,825 straws in a years time, 36,500 in 20 years time. My newest one is to go cups. I will use my reusable to go cup for cold and my reusable travel mug for hot. For me this can reach double amount ( hot drinks) as the straws. This is my giving back to the Earth I live on.
I long ago and have ever rarely done TV , thus eliminating TV to better use my time isn’t a big thing for me…but F.B….oh F.B. I won’t lie. I love Facebook. I am not going to lie and fool myself into thinking I’ll give it up. I love seeing the photos of my nephews and I use it in my own marketing, writing, research and whatnot. Heck I am simply a Facebooker….However I noticed my time spent on it creeps up and up and….and my reading pile stands untouched because I’ll relax and begin reading FB on my phone rather than picking up a piece of reading material. I have limited myself now…in various ways and I have a timeline to get through a certain sizeable stack of reading materials.
Also…healthy mind.
Also…a little less “ I’m too tired to do…” and a little more time to bike, run and swim again…make the best of my island time!

Leave a Reply

