Oil Shmoil.

Day 3 of 30. Essays ” The Life of Peggy. A thirty-three year old, Kind Of Single Lady.”
Maybe I am slightly insane. I am most definitely awkward. I imagine all aspects in life with No Pants on.

Oil Shmoil.

Will we run out of oil? And why the panic? I don’t believe for a moment that someone hasn’t already created the technology, the solutions and answers. They learned to evolve to it 100 years ago and we’ve come light years from kerosene lamps. I believe that computers, cars and cellphones, homes and everything else we run off of will be just fine…not at all the end of the world.

I believe that if suddenly by 5:pm today we ran straight out of it all…we would be just fine and a face of the future will step forward who’s spent his past working on a solution. I do my part but I live with my needs…..not just pleasures…of this world.

I wonder more at the implications of no oil for the earth itself…why does the earth produce oil and what/how does it contribute to the earth itself? There is a reason it exists. And I am not so sure that reason is to make an iphone….or is it?

Then again….they say what we see in movies is only what is to happen. So…the zombie apocalypse. Is this what running out of oil will bring? Us desperately eating each others brains? Or the Baltimore Riots….will we turn into total mayhem and loot and take from someone else what isn’t ours? Destroy us to…be plain stupid and destructive?
Will we all really plant a garden together and trade services and barter and help each other out. Be a community?

Sadly it would likely lean more toward the destructive and looting than the community building , however I still do believe that the actual end of oil won’t be the end. I believe that the total dependency on oil is already being planned for….engineered for and inventions will come to light. Young inventors will come to light and that we will quickly adapt. In another one hundred years we won’t even remember the days of oil.

Leave a Reply

