The Look

Day 12 of 30. Essays ” The Life of Peggy. A thirty-three year old, Kind Of Single Lady.”
Maybe I am slightly insane. I am most definitely awkward. I imagine all aspects in life with No Pants on.

The Look

My probation officer is a frizzy curly haired Jewish woman..and today I got Jew-woman face…now I know what the world deals with with me. That shit is scary.

I often am told that I give “The Face” to not just men but all…all in my life. My friend Beth calls it the “Judgement Face.” the face that says “Are you really considering that? Let’s put down the white Russian and have some water, pet.”

I have been married…and divorced…twice and I am sure the poor men in my life have most often received the look. My friend Joe calls it “The look were I can’t hide when I think you just said something completely stupid.” He says he get’s the look a lot.
He does.

My mother had The Look that could make you whisper out of the corner of your mouth to your friends…please…don’t…go. When really you also worried that it wouldn’t matter and soon embarrassment in front of your friend would surely happen.

I have that face that, when I am not smiling I look not happy but often I am also smiling…or as many put it, writing in the corner of the coffeeshop looking fiercely intense. But then…there is That Look . And today, I think I received it. And that shit is scary.

Leave a Reply

