The Job Hunt. #2. The Hunt Continues.

IMG_2515
Following up on my first The Job Hunt post I am using a fun article I found at The Muse. I love The Muse. I read it daily and try and learn something new each day from it. I think it’s a great resource that should be used in highschools and college’s before we send the baby ducks out into real life. This particular Question’s article is done by a writer who I have found is real fun to follow on twitter, constantly posting some really good to read information.

During job interviews we go through the process and it’s not always about our resume. There are questions for a stranger to get to know us. Watch how we react and have time spent with us, facial features and mannerism’s all play a part of these interviews. This is why first date’s are compared to job interviews. But rather than “What’s your favorite color? and “Do you want children?” we are asked to tell examples of past job experience. This will show the interviewer how we think on our feet, handle situations and communicate among more. So I went ahead and added my A to her Q from The Muse below for this post. Though you aren’t getting my mannerisms (extremely nervous on the inside, cool as a cucumber on the out but I rarely look you in the eye and my voice is a pitch higher than usual, crossing and re-crossing my leg’s…everything wrong and bad in an interview) you can get an idea of my journey of The Job Hunt.

https://www.themuse.com/advice/30-behavioral-interview-questions-you-should-be-ready-to-answer?utm_campaign=trueAnthem:+Trending+Content&utm_content=5617847804d3014a57000001&utm_medium=trueAnthem&utm_source=facebook
Most Common Behavioral Interview Questions – The Muse
30 Behavioral Interview Questions You Should Be Ready to Answer

Questions from The Muse by By Lily Zhang
Answer’s by Peggy J. Davenport

Teamwork

For questions like these, you want a story that illustrates your ability to work with others under challenging circumstances. Think team conflict, difficult project constraints, or clashing personalities.

Q. Talk about a time when you had to work closely with someone whose personality was very different from yours.
A. There are moments when Working in the restaurant industry has taught a person a lot and you to to work with a lot of personalities different from your own. Not even all that you like or get along with! But the job also takes a LOT of team work. you have to pull your end, even when mad that someone else isn’t. Sometimes even more than your end. At times I was also a Team Leader/Closer for the day and this had me suddenly having to delegate and be sure tasks were accomplished. Not everyone always liked suddenly going from teammate to being told what to do, nor were they always in a mood to do any of the work they had to and would often try and get away without doing it so the learning to get along and also get the job done with clashing personalities happened often. Really the best way I worked around this was to learn what each was good at and assign them to that task…not worry so much in a non-manager role to build them into something they were not. There were several people and this wasn’t hard to find a task for each tat worked for them. At time’s though it didn’t always work that way and I myself would take the hardest task, giving my team mate a break with an easier one so they knew that if they worked for me, I worked for them. There were time’s when I would be harder on them too. I once told a man during a different tact of being fed up with a lack of team work among the employee’s, ” I am not assigning a specific task. We are grown up’s. See it needs doing and do it.” That night all who pulled their weight through the day went home and those who played lazy stayed and picked up the closing work. The next time everyone pitched in more during to get the job done faster and go home sooner.

Q. Give me an example of a time you faced a conflict while working on a team. How did you handle that?
A. There was a time when, as spoken of above, that I was a closer, but working alongside my team members to get the job finished as well and quickly as possible after many of us had been there for a sixteen hour day. One of the freshest team members simply refused to do the job, not only refused but started yelling and being quite obscene. I simply and calmly went to my overhead manager, explained the situation and told her “you can sign him out but I am not going to.” I do believe that there is a time of “passing the bill” when you are not a manager to begin with and can’t make a person do something they won’t as well as the point of being yelled at. It wasn’t my place to hire, fire and manage but I did have to work with this guy daily and at times it’s ok to let the manager manage. He apologized the next day and picked up his end again. I replied with “I am sure you were just having a bad day and we all do but let’s try and work together to make each day a little better as best we can. I will do my part. And lord knows I have my cranky day’s” and we moved on to work together just fine afterward. I didn’t try and get him fired. I didn’t complain but basically I removed myself from the conflict rather than entering into it.

Q. Describe a time when you struggled to build a relationship with someone important. How did you eventually overcome that?
A. I had moved from CA and was told that I was over qualified for every job I applied to and had been paid more than what they could offer. I expected less since TX vs CA and explained but the fear of me wanting more often had me left with no job offer. I kept hitting a lot of dead end’s and became quite frustrated. I walked into a shop for pet food to check it out for my own weimaraner puppy. I loved the place so much that I asked to work there. The owner was who I was able to speak to and they told me I would have to start on the floor as a non-manager position and just above minimum wage pay. That as fine with me. I told them quality over quantity was important to me. They gave me a chance even though the job was nothing like my resume and completely left field for me (starting) and two months later I was store manager and two more months I was regional manager. The struggle wasn’t the worst to be honest because the owners were amazing and the job was so much fun. Otherwise I haven’t had too much trouble building relationships…working on personal boyfriend ones perhaps but that would be it. And that in itself is a job.

Q.We all make mistakes we wish we could take back. Tell me about a time you wish you’d handled a situation differently with a colleague.
A. I got super frustrated with how the restaurant I worked was being run and that many of the other employee’s got away with pure laziness, I went to discuss a particular problem with my manager one day and due to his lack of interest and the employee’s lack of working we ended up not ready to open and I did everything myself. The manager then came out and yelled at me for not being ready and I lost my temper and gave my two weeks notice then and there. Professionally, but I did let the problem get to me rather than trying to be the solution. We later talked it out and I did not leave.

Q.Tell me about a time you needed to get information from someone who wasn’t very responsive. What did you do?
A. Oh haha. In the job searching or after finishing a job, trying to get a written letter of recommendation is difficult. It’s just hard to get people to take the time to do so even if in contract. I of course always start with the simple asking and the reminder but now I find that offering to take them to lunch, my treat, and that then is when they can also have the letter to give me usually works pretty well and also is a sure way to end any past employment relationships on continued good terms.

Client-Facing Skill’s

If the role you’re interviewing for works with clients, definitely be ready for one of these. Find an example of a time where you successfully represented your company or team and delivered exceptional customer service.

Q. Describe a time when it was especially important to make a good impression on a client. How did you go about doing so?
A. I have had to work hard to learn quick and short first impressions since I started modeling at age 15 (and did so for nine years). To be honest as much flak as modeling gets, you have to go on go-see’s which are about 3 minute interviews about 20 times a day meeting with photographers, stylists and designers. Contrary to popular belief it is FAR from just about looks. But involves how the model carries herself, confidence, how she moves and holds herself, sits, what she does with her hands, is she natural or stiff and a big part is personality and simply catching their attention and leaving a memory. You are only one of about a hundred they will see that day so you must make a great and memorable first impression that has them calling your agent and booking you for the job. I took that early lesson with me through all aspects of life ever since.

Q. Give me an example of a time when you did not meet a client’s expectation. What happened, and how did you attempt to rectify the situation?
A. Once when working with BGI the owner seemed disappointed with the amount of clientel walking in. I explained that his expectation’s where from cities with a huge millions amount of people to cause a naturally larger amount of easy walk in. And he had chosen to open his business (before my opinion came onto the scene) in Galveston, population under 50,000. However we were close to Houston, Webster and Clear lake areas and also received a lot of summer and weekend traffic and must utilize that fact by really reaching out specifically for those locations that people interested in board games might learn of us and using online avenues to become part of that community so that when they could there was a physical visit. We ended up having a summer full of people from other states coming for our event’s through this.

Q. Tell me about a time when you made sure a customer was pleased with your service.
A. Working with the pet nutrition business we had return customers, they were the name of our game even. But when a pet had digestive problems or allergy and skin problems and you went through a six week cycle of food change you kept up with the changes, sometimes getting worse before they got better as they do with us humans, keeping a customer on track with the program and also working with their vet even as needed was an important part of the job and making needed adjustments along the way. However after all was said and done and the results were in seeing the happy customer and a healthy pet was always exactly what made you do this job. We had a good regular clientel, about 5,000 per location and we grew to six locations during my time with the company. I spoke face to face with each and every regular customer.

Q. Describe a time when you had to interact with a difficult client. What was the situation, and how did you handle it?
A. A good example would be working at the shipping location. Once a customer came in with some clay items and clay doesn’t ship well. I simply refuse it because the best packing with certain clays doesn’t guarantee that it doesn’t get smashed under another several heavy boxes and kicked around on freight and delivery by the carriers. We always pack with that in mind but with clay vases they are just bound to break regardless. I can send fine china safely to England intact but Clay vases across state is bound to break. One day this woman insisted after my explanation and refusal. I told her we could not insure the items. I told her how they would be packed and that still I would place money on them breaking. She insisted to the point of yelling and outrage. So I packed the items in front of her, taking digital photos at each step as was an insurance procedure I took and went ahead with her signing a document that I refused insurance and had recommended not sending them and no refunds, etc. Of course they broke. What was funny is it turned out the husband smashed them and not the carrier though. But not yet knowing that, she called in an outrage insisting I pay her back the shipping, packing and the cost of the items. I wrote my report and sent them to the carrier she called to report me to as well. They sided with me stating that I had actually far more followed every precaution than what was required and that they had good standing with me in the past because of my standards. She wrote a bad online review, leaving out the fine print of course, and the carrier actually wrote their side to back our company up, something they do not take the time to do nor need to. I always do my best to give my best and I felt terrible for the woman and I even felt responsible but I knew I had done the right thing. A refund also just wasn’t something the company was willing to do since we had gone through explanation and refusal in the first place. In time she emailed an apology to me and the company.

Q. When you’re working with a large number of customers, it’s tricky to deliver excellent service to them all. How do you go about prioritizing your customers’ needs?
A. The restaurant in a summer time weekend day on a tourist island really helps on this one. I had never worked in a restaurant when I was younger so doing some sumemr work on the island it turned out to be a job that brought really great learning experiance. Typically we hold three tables at a time and you also have your station to keep filled, stocked and cleaned and for us in a super large two story restaurant we had to go down stairs to carry up our food…to our station for non-alcohol drinks and to the bar for alcohol drinks. Many far steps. The biggest key was timing our tables. We treated them like one…spin and check spin and check spin and check sort of deal. But also communication was key, fill an iced tea and see that you need another pitcher for someone elses water but food is ready so an easy “Sir, I am going to go get your food and then bring the water pitcher to refill you as well” was a simple way of letting him know that you would be away for just a minute but had not forgotten him either (at this time water would not be completely empty yet but close as well) . Working for your tip your customer service and your time meant money.

Ability to Adapt

Times of turmoil are finally good for something! Think of a recent work crisis you successfully navigated. Even if your navigation didn’t feel successful at the time, find a lesson or silver lining you took from the situation.

Q. Tell me about a time you were under a lot of pressure. What was going on, and how did you get through it?
A. Oh well…a good time would be planning a wedding completely by yourself and working 6:am to 11:pm manager job without a day off in ten months time. Not one. This was a time when tempers could rise but…I didn’t want to fight with my fiancee and take it out on him of course but naturally it’s what humans can do. I didn’t want to lose my temper at work and get snappy with my bosses when they “asked one more thing” so I really just turned to my habit of lists and learned the big lesson of delegation. I delegated to my assistant managers to delegate tasks to the staff. I also used the moment to let each manager have a chance to shine in moving up to the next step. I had a meeting, told them this was my plan as we soon had a job position opening up and wanted to hire within. I delegated to each tasks and I of course watched how each handled in time. On the private life side in wedding planning I finally asked for help (another life lesson) of friends, family and my fiancee and was surprised at how much people wanted to help when I asked (one of my weaknesses that I from then on worked on overcoming). I was able to get the job done and not lose my cool or drop the ball on either end but also utilize the time to “let go” and let others be able to step up. Later this provided me with more time that the owners needed and wanted of me for more travel in my work.

Q. Describe a time when your team or company was undergoing some change. How did that impact you, and how did you adapt?
A. There was a company I worked for, Total Call International. We were located in a high rise building and had rented out an entire new floor to hold our growth. We had it build and finished in the way we wanted it and so forth. Up until move day on the old floor we had to run the business without a hitch at all….as well as pack and ready for the move. On move day we also could not stop and yet had to move. Even with moving men much was done ourselves…especially our small office area items. I held my most couldn’t drop the ball job on the old floor on phone lines as the phone lines on the new floor got hooked up but on the same lines of phones. As soon as I had the go ahead I ran to the other floor (well I elevatored) and picked the phones right back up not missing a beat (more than what a restroom break would have been). I then had to over see the office being put into place and the employee’s as well and being sure everyone got back to task immediately and as smoothly as possible. I had to trouble shoot and be sure everyone had what they needed or report to our IT department of any issues that arose. It was fast paced, high pressured and a fun experience .

Q. Tell me about the first job you’ve ever had. What did you do to learn the ropes?
A. Well my first adult job I found myself nineteen and had just moved to California from Texas and I had been homeschooled with a super high SAT score and IQ but…this being time before computers were even in schools and we didn’t have a computer at home, I didn’t even know how to do much more than turn one on. Much less know the basics of microsoft or spreadsheet. I needed a job and saw a sign training for real estate agents so…I went in. I overheard them needing a weekend receptionist and when the lady finished her phone call I signed up for the classes but also mentioned that I heard they needed a weekend receptionist. I told her immediately that I didn’t have computer skills but was a quick learner. She brought me around…showed me a few things and asked me to do a few tasks and then hired me. I ended up taking a class as well as learning on the job and within two months there wasn’t any task in the office that couldn’t be asked of me. I have since (fifteen years now) taken classes and utilized the internet to learn a great more about computers and it seems very odd to say that I was once that ignorant about them.

Q. Give me an example of a time when you had to think on your feet in order to delicately extricate yourself from a difficult or awkward situation.
A. During a robbing! I walked into the Down Town Los Angeles Bank of America to deposit my paycheck during my lunch break and you walk through this first huge foyer and then into the second. It wasn’t until halfway through the second, where the bank tellers were, that I realized in front of me were five masked armed gun men. They all had their backs to me and I slipped off my heels and turned and ran out all the way to the front door without a second of hesitation. As I ran out the squad car’s all drove up and surrounded as well so I was able to tell them how many gun men were in there as well as about how many citizen’s. A very scary moment but had I paniced and caught their attention instead of reacted as I did not only could I have been stuck in there but also would not have been able to help the officers in the information I was able to provide.

Q. Tell me about a time you failed. How did you deal with this situation?
A. Fail is a word and an action that I hate. Strongly hate. I am a go-getter and I learn what I need to and more because I like to. In my own personal life I will have to say that there have been situations in jobs where maybe an idea didn’t work out but none big enough to speak of and all easily redirected into something that did. So the best I can use is a personal situation. My divorce. I still, five years later, feel like a failure. Nobody can change my mind on that. And I do know that I did everything I could. You simply cannot control someone elses action’s and mental state. However in leaving and not allowing myself to be in such a bad marriage with such an unfixable problem I still feel that in that action alone, I did not fail. I must ad that failure didn’t make me a victim and I won’t allow myself to be. It’s funny because you have so much training in a job; outside training, school your entire childhood, college and extra classes in different subject’s and a boss or a customer to tell you when you are doing it wrong. But in a marriage, your biggest place to use all of these life skill’s that these question’s ask, not much of it at all. And books, articles of it online and marriage counceling (can’t make him go) were simply not enough.

Time Management Skills

In other words, get ready to talk about a time you juggled multiple responsibilities, organized it all (perfectly), and completed everything before the deadline.

A. Tell me about a time you had to be very strategic in order to meet all your top priorities.
Q. At one time when working for NP I was running three stores, all under two years old, when we chose that year to open two more stores. Not only did I have to not neglect my first three but also keep them raising in sales and meeting demands (our ordering and inventory was very hard to keep up with in a tiny store but with big consumer demand and something we had to keep on top of as we quickly grew in demand, not to mention tracking inventory and damge, etc). Not only did I have to balance that with opening two more stores but also learning the actual dynamics of the new locations and ordering and inventory, employee hiring, training and moving from about fifteen employee’s to forty in the company. This took a lot of interesting strategic studying and steps as well as a few trial and errors.

Q. Describe a long-term project that you managed. How did you keep everything moving along in a timely manner?
A. Again I will use NP as I worked there for a good term and through a lot of changes that give great examples of growth and change. The owners and I set an annual weekend away meeting. I had to build my own facts and forecast, plans and give a presentation of detail, new idea’s and innovation for constant growth and new openings. This helped refresh and plan in hand. I also felt a huge part of the team rather than just being told what the owners plan was and do it sort of thing.

Q. Sometimes it’s just not possible to get everything on your to-do list done. Tell me about a time your responsibilities got a little overwhelming. What did you do?
A. Again as I said before, delegation. This was one of my own hardest things to learn and something I had bosses tell me again and again…delegate delegate delegate. It took awhile for me to get it and some trial and error as well as learning with it not to come off too bossy. Learning what to let go to someone else which grow’s them in the company and learning that doing so gave myself room to grow as well. A big lesson from a past boss.

Q. Tell me about a time you set a goal for yourself. How did you go about ensuring that you would meet your objective?
A. Again, the annual meetings of NP had me setting goals (I am a natural goal setter and list maker) but implementing achieving them would be another story. In my first annual meeting my boss asked me to learn more of doing so during the next year and to ad that information to my next meeting, meaning to ad more of the HOW in. One particular thing that I ended up implementing was a manager/owner quarterly meeting aside from our annual. Not the big presentation and weekend away event but a much smaller and focus on a more particular area each time moment. I could bring a topic to the table “this is where I am having the most difficulty right now” maybe it was motivating employee’s or scheduling more events, the more discussion-like meeting rather than presentation’s brought a different dynamic to the table. I was also more up to date on where I stood with my annual goals set by having to really face them quarterly. Another step we ended up taking was bringing in the assistant managers to two other meetings a year and doing them together among the stores as well as separately. This also built them up, showed them there was someone behind me to get the job done that I asked of them and they were able to give ideas and insight as well, what made me feel more part of the team now was passed onto including them…even places I could improve personally.

Q. Give me an example of a time you managed numerous responsibilities. How did you handle that?
A. I feel that I may get a little redundant in my answers so I want to try and use another example. At the packing store during the holiday season, as you can imagine, was very hectic. We had only two computers and I was one year able to hire two more employee’s other than myself. One of the employee’s was much too slow for the computers and thus backed up lines, the other fantastic and could get people through quickly. All of us were great at the packing end of things and I myself was great at the computers. So with a line out the door I put our two fastest on the computers, formed two lines while the third set the items aside with labels to be packed and directed the lines as well as directed the pre-labeled drop off’s to get extra bodies out of waiting and signed for deliveries, sorted and put mail away as well as logged and marked and put away other packages for other clients and packed when he had time and so forth. Then there was always a lull in the day for a short time and we all three would pack them all at once to catch up, the afternoon would be the same with an end of the day lull to pack again. At times we could pack some items as we went. Delegating who was good at what in the most efficient way got us through the season rather than trying to keep pushing a part time seasonal employee to do what he wasn’t best at. We ended up with our best year that year for the entire history of the company and all got big unexpected surprise bonuses.

Communication Skills

You probably won’t have any trouble thinking of a story for communication questions, since it’s not only part of most jobs; it’s part of everyday life. However, the thing to remember here is to also talk about your thought process or preparation.

Q. Give me an example of a time when you were able to successfully persuade someone to see things your way at work.
A. When working for NP and having multiple store location’s, we did not have in store assistant managers and I visited all the stores each day. The cost of creating position’s for an assistant store manager (we hired within) was a lot to ask for my owners but through good detailed planning, presentation and what we could accomplish in doing so got through to them on the subject and we quickly hired the new positions. One detail I remember bringing to the table as I was due for it, was forging a raise and a bonus that year to help the cost of the position’s. We ended up making more money having much more hand’s on responsaibility in each location for our ordering and delivering, less waste and inventory loss and happier customer’s. I was able to do a lot more for the company and it’s growth with the time and we more than over shot our expectations by double. The next year I recieved not only double the bonus and the raise since the plan worked, but triple because it worked that well.

Q. Describe a time when you were the resident technical expert. What did you do to make sure everyone was able to understand you?
A. Well, when teaching customer’s about pet nutrition you aren’t just giving them hype about your product, we carried the products that matched our training and beliefs which was what we were built on. But a lot of training and time went into us….however you lose your customer’s attention in two minutes and you don’t want to come off as a used car sales man so finding a way to actually bring your knowledge to the customer was a very fun and important time in my life. A good learning experience. I utilized a quick and easy verbiage without sounding too technical. I showed them an item or two for their specific pet that we carried that gave them a visual of what I was talking about and I utilized a computer on a tv screen system we had in each store called our “learning center” where we could quickly bring up easy to read material that they could go home and look further into themselves if they chose but in two or three minutes had enough information that made easy sense to convince a new customer to try a new product. We also had a physical hand out and a free sample so once they got home we were still on their mind. Not speaking technical but giving easy facts and visual was the way to get through. A couple of key-point’s I learned in this was to relax in my speaking manner, approach easily and slow down my speaking. I am a tall and can be a bit brusk in my manner so learning to work with those rather than let them work against me was a big part of learning to work directly with people.

Q. Tell me about a time when you had to rely on written communication to get your ideas across to your team.
A. At one time I began holding weekly meetings for my team, each store location at a time (each store had so much it’s own personality and customer dynamic due to it’s location that working with each indiviidually for their own set of goal’s and what else became very important). I would write out and give each a folder of the meeting. The topics and delegated tasks, goals and instruction for each that I wished to see accomplished. I would always leave a section for their own note’s. This would be turned in after being filled. It was a different way than just talking in a meeting and gave them something to keep referring to between meetings as well as note their own insight.

Q. Give me an example of a time when you had to explain something fairly complex to a frustrated client. How did you handle this delicate situation?
A. Oh…with shipping there is customs to deal with…and each country has it’s own . Also some are sadly pretty crooked. This is outside of the carrier. The carrier takes it there and picks it up from there but the customs has to evaluate it and that is like a broken link in our chain. Unfortunately things can be unpacked and not properly re-packed for inspection, and very unfortunately in some countries things got stolen. This was why insurance really helped but trying to explain this process to the customer was very difficult. Procedure and how systems worked. We took many precaution’s and time for explanation on our end, insurance and perfect packing ad clear outside instruction’s should customs have some heart or not open at all. We also were sure to be very clear on our paper work so that it often had less chance of customs opening to inspect. A lot of little things like that.

Q. Tell me about a successful presentation you gave and why you think it was a hit.
A. Well in the past with NP I gave several presentations. Afterword most if not all of my ideas were implemented and by the next meeting I was able to show about a 98% success rate.

Motivation and Values

A lot of seemingly random questions are actually attempts to learn more about what motivates you. Your response would ideally address this directly even if the question wasn’t explicit about it.

Q. Tell me about your proudest professional accomplishment.
A. Really I put this into myself and my writing. I had written and published for years as a hobby, it wasn’t until after my divorce and I went back to school that my professor explained to me in answering “I am not sure what I should do with the rest of my life with all these changes” with ” you are doing it already.” (at the time of divorce I had stopped working for a big company and began working for my own Small Footstep’s, Big Impression’s project and my then-husbands own business.)
So I began writing in earnest, around day jobs but with a career in mind. Even going back to school for it. I learned more and more about writing and publishing and what it takes. And now I am finally on the path of building a platform and really getting out there in the way that I want. Really I set my business skill’s to my writing and made writing a business rather than just a hobby. Business plan’s , research, further learning and all the How-To.

Q. Describe a time when you saw some problem and took the initiative to correct it rather than waiting for someone else to do it.
A. I am a big problem solver. I have been told “Peggy, you don’t have problems, you have solutions” I carry that quote with me for sure. In work I will use the examples of ; in one job, seeing a big leak of cost as well as lack of profit from a client held from previous owners, yet in this company for ten years. The system they had set up cost them $20,000 a year, and should have made a profit over that of $20,000 a year or so as well. I found the leak of the old system and wrote out changes and submitted to my boss. He at first said “but what if we lose them as customers?” I explained they weren’t losing a client they where losing money and clients should make money not cost money, they had just kept doing what the old owners had set up and ten years had really cost money. So they allowed me to submit my changes to them, the client called and yelled and said they would find someone else. I was actually ok with that though confidant that they would not. And a week later they didn’t and came back accepting my changes. I cut the loss so the next two years we didn’t have the $20,000 loss but also in those two years we made way more profit than expected and had a $50,000 each year clean profit! Nearly catching us up with ten year’s of loss! This later got me bonuses but at the time was very much not a part of my job and I could have ignored it and just let it go not caring either.

Q. Tell me about a time when you worked under close supervision or extremely loose supervision. How did you handle that?
A. Close supervision would be Mark Deitch & Assoc. It was a real over the shoulder hovering company. I think at the time it was good for me because it was the beginning of social media and I do feel that I, at such a young age, might have gotten sucked into wasting time all day rather than doing my job. So I am grateful for that.
Real loose supervision would be pretty much every other job past that other than MorningStar Entertainment. I do likely better with a looser. It gives me a freedom to think for myself but I know when to stop and ask questions as well. I likely would say I do best with a medium. Enough check in but not a total unaccountable for. Though with my writing I have learned to hold myself very accountable. Very new experiance and I have to turn down friend’s lunch time and doing what I feel like at all time’s and set my “working hour’s” time pretty strictly. I am a natural To Do lister. A list for each of my list’s. But I also am determined to cross off those list’s and get the job done. Thankfully I have really learned a lot from my past working experiance.

Q. Give me an example of a time you were able to be creative with your work. What was exciting or difficult about it?
A. I will use my own writing as an example. As a writer I would love to sit and dream and focus on my story and close out the outside world. but I can’t. There is the day job and life itself to tend with. But I also learned a valuable lesson in being an artist. Building a platform, self promotion and constant how-to learning is a large part of writing and creating so becoming disciplined in all of those things was and is still a real awesome experience. The learning to make the moments of creativity and also to make the moments as well is difficult and exciting both. Putting in the hard work that comes from it all is very exciting. Getting there and seeing the end and doing the tedious parts are very difficult. Another example I can use is a project I produced called StoryTeller. This was a group of musician’s and a writer that had began on their own between two of them and I built up one this fantastic stage-theatre show in particular. Working with different mucian’s in different location’s and pulling it all together was a real challenge but a lot of fun. Having a sold out show made it even better.

Q. Tell me about a time you were dissatisfied in your work. What could have been done to make it better?
A. I wish that I had not been anti-learning about the platform part of being a writer a long time ago and utilized extra time to do so…I feel that I lost three years that I really should and could have done so. Finally it was just an eye opening moment that it had to be done and I have moved forward since. I even love doing it now. I do feel that I would have been further along by years of work had I done so before. But the best I can do now is move forward. I have learned and now constantly take time out each week to learn how to be a writer and do more platform work . Life of a writer is far from staying in your pajama’s and drinking coffee all day while typing out cute stories. In fact, even if I stay and work at home that day I get in my “work clothe’s” and “sit at my desk.” Take on a very Go-To-Work mentallity.

Keep watch for my third post on The Job Hunt…coming soon.

Leave a Reply

