NaNoWriMo 2015. Day 16.

IMG_2298

NaNoWriMo 2015. Day 16.

Not enough coffee in the world. This may drive me to drink. I am pretty sure I am sitting in a public coffeeshop and may just have forgotten my pants today. Don’t mind me… I am writing a novel this month.

 

Behind The White Gate.

 

Yesterday I had a highly productive day with my most word count yet for my NaNo Novel.

 

When explaining NaNoWriMo to people they give you this look like “Oh well, do the words actually matter?” And let me tell you…they do. I could copy and paste a dozen THE’s over and over…doesn’t hit the word count for this game. To learn more and a better understanding of how it actually works (this is my third year though my first real try) visit nanowrimo.org. However…

It is super hard work and dedication. For one thing this year previously I didn’t dive into writing a novel because I worked on a platform…going back to following previously ignored sage advice. I rebuilt and built new connections and I read read read and learned more every minute that I could. I grew in my writing and will continue to do so. Basically before starting the business , stop and set up your business plan is what my year has been like.

 

Many amazing Novel’s have come out of NaNo and great author’s use NaNo as a tool in their lives too. This is what it is for me. The year was all of the above and November gave me a place to start, to say “ok…it’s time to do what you fear you might fail at” As well as a deadline and commadre on the way to the finish line of fellow NaNo Writer’s. The amount of words for me in my personal goal is 99,900 (though will likely land around 120,000) not 50,000 (read on nano website why this number is set and what makes a novel in length) and it’s not just about typing words on a page…it’s about creating a story. And a damn good one at that. My end goal is to seriously have this published (roll your eye’s…many do…but when you come to me with your super de duper new job or projects or life accomplishments , it’s ok..I’ll be the friend that I should be). Not only am I fully learning on a new curve the process of writing but editing and publishing, platforming and more will be learned from this experience as well.

 

Nano is big in itself, a great tool, a fantastic motivation, a place to say “ok start” and an idea of a time line so as not to still be writing the same novel five years from now or the ol’ One Day I will scenario. It’s a great community to reach into and there are many benefit’s of NaNo…I will write novel’s and book’s outside of NaNo but this year Behind The White Gate is a NaNoNovel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

