Kitchen Adventures: Beer Cioppino.

IMG_5190_FotorI picked up this book from a random in travels Half Priced Books. Here I am with my new Nook and still even walking into about seven bookstores a week. And out I walk with piles of Books, not even actually on my To Read List at the moment even. But this was a good pickup and one I’ll likely pass along to my sister with her three kids. It’s very funny to read as a novel before bed even if you never actually try the recipes or follow the advice. I don’t even have kids and it’s about family dinners and with kids. (Joe and I always have and always will make our time to have a meal together important). I got it though because when I flipped through it I was immediately reminded of some things that are just easy to forget in busy lives. And also for the recipe and meal plan ideas (even if I don’t follow exactly and shape to my own likes and needs). I read it, I took notes, I was reminded and now it will soon be in the mail to a sister to read next. One meal I was encouraged to try directly from it so far was so easy and so yummy and so very flexible (and freezable) Coippino (Italian Fish Stew). Soon good so, let me share with you my first go at it….. #cioppino #Cooking#Food #Author #Read #AmReading and #Cooking #Book #Reading #CookBook#Recipe #MealPlanning #Ideas#HalfPricedBooks #Dinner#dinnertheplaybook #Writer #Mom #Wife#MealPlanner #theartoffamily#JennyRosenstratch #Publisher#BallantineBooks #RandomHouse #Blog#BlogWriter #Dinneralovestory#trynewthings #inthekitchen

IMG_5109_FotorSo I ran (took the bus) to the #Grocery (at the moment we were near a very good one too so this was extra fun) and headed home, turned on some Sinatra, poured some red #Wine and enjoyed a great evening…Joe was at work so this was just me and the cat. Since this was my first time making #Cioppino I chose to work on the base first before buying, spending money on, and cooking with the seafood that normally goes in it. However, I bought a wonderful Seed bread, I only eat good and real butters (this particular was a European salted) and I planned to basically enjoy a “tomato soup” as a meal with a salad and then freeze the rest…should it come out edible at all.
#TryNewThings #adventuresinthekitchen#publictransportation #ClothBags#Bought this one in a neat Mexican shop in #Austin in January.

IMG_5126_FotorI got home and realized that my favorite #Garlic #Toolwasn’t here (Joe, at work) and yet I also learned that I am really enjoying non mincing my garlic and eating it in full cloves. I also learned a but on an easier way to #PeelGarlic so this made me do a happy dance. I loved the #Colors here. #Colorfulkitchen #PegsKitchen

IMG_5127_Fotor

I take pictures of #Cooking and in my #kitchen and the process because I love it. I don’t actually write about food (though you’ll see me add a #Blog post from time to time on it) and also because I simply fall in #lovewith the #Colors that #food can give me. From the beginning of days #Artistswould #Paint stills of Food and leavings on a table…and I see why. Now If I had the skill of painting in my soul and fingers…..Otherwise it pleases me.
#PegsKitchen #colorfulkitchen #Food#InTheKitchen #Making #Cioppino for the first time.

I LOVED #Cookingwith #Garlic #freshBasil #Lemon, and…yes, that is #Beer .
I totally did not follow the actual #Recipein #Dinner #RecipeBook as is my usual. I read it once…and just go and have fun. I didn’t even shop by it. I also never use measuring (almost ever) and this got a lot of lemon juice fresh squeezed, garlic until I was tired of peeling it…and #Beerbecause I had forgotten the White Wine it needed! haha…Joe had a bottle in the fridge and I gave it a squinty faced look and said “Ok, let’s try this out and see how it goes”. And OMG, I have to tell you, the end result was amazing (I also added just a splash of red wine later. I made the Garlic and later the onion with the beer, cooked it down, added more. And added more beer into the pot of tomatoes soon along with water and the red wine splash). It came out pretty sweet but super refreshing and so good, especially served with a buttered seed bread.
#InTheKitchen #nomeasuring#guesswork #ASplash of #wine#Experimenting#experimentinginthekitchen he kitchen #Pegskitchen #colorfulkitchen #Neverfollowing the #Recipe

IMG_5143_Fotor#PegsKitchen#lecreuset #teakettle #Colorful #kitchen #Tinykitchen#RVkitchen #Cookingontheroad#Kitchenonwheels ##rvlife #RVliving #RV#Smallspaces #Simpleliving #Smallliving

Add the #onionsand lord my #Kitchen #Smelledsooooooooooooo #Good !!!! (also added more beer and some #Butter here)
#Cookingwithbutter #PegsKitchen#MakingCioppino #FirstTime

#tomato and #Basil and #beer
Not your typical #Cioppino but when ever have I done things typical?

IMG_5154_Fotor

This was the bottle of #Beer I found in the fridge of Joe’s and used to make my forgot-the-wine #Cioppino but hey….I made it #texasstyle#ziegenbock #Cioppino might be a first. And it turned out damn good.
#RVliving #RVkitchen #RVCooking#RVdinner #PegsKitchen#ColorfulKitchen never following the #Recipe

IMG_5157_FotorIMG_5155_Fotor

Follow my #Cioppino making #Adventures

IMG_5166_FotorIMG_5164_FotorIMG_5161_Fotor

I take pictures of #Cooking and in my #kitchen and the process because I love it. I don’t actually write about food (though you’ll see me add a #Blog post from time to time on it) and also because I simply fall in #lovewith the #Colors that #food can give me. From the beginning of days #Artistswould #Paint stills of Food and leavings on a table…and I see why. Now If I had the skill of painting in my soul and fingers…..Otherwise it pleases me.
#PegsKitchen #colorfulkitchen #Food#InTheKitchen #Making #Cioppino for the first time.

IMG_5175_Fotor

TADA! And last but not least! the finished product! It was SOOOO yummy!

Cont from previous: Turned on some Sinatra, poured some red #Wine and enjoyed a great evening…Joe was at work so this was just me and the cat. Since this was my first time making #Cioppino I chose to work on the base first before buying, spending money on, and cooking with the seafood that normally goes in it. However, I bought a wonderful Seed bread, I only eat good and real butters (this particular was a European salted, I never buy American butter because it’s tasteless unless I try an odd find here and there and always #Amish #butter if I can find it because it’s the best) and I planned to basically enjoy a “tomato soup” as a meal with a salad and then freeze the rest…should it come out edible at all.And it did! It was sooo good! I didn’t measure, or follow the actual recipe *from the #book a few pictures back called #Dinnertheplaybook , and I forgot wine so I used a splash of red wine and a bottle of Joe’s #beer from the fridge (a #Texan beer so it’s #Cioppino done the #Texanway ) it was sweet but incredibly good and I’d do it again, even with the beer!
I’ll do the Seafood next.
#TryNewThings #adventuresinthekitchen#pegskitchen #Colorfulkitchen #Meals#freezermeals #Cookingforone

 

Follow me on Instagram for by photo stories @ https://www.instagram.com/a_kind_of_single_lady/ 

 

Like

Leave a Reply

